Archiv für 'HK/Macao'

Red light district as part of the city’s cultural heritage

Tuesday, 27.12.2016

Losing sex appeal? The future of Hong Kong’s red light districts Von Rachel Blundy (SCMP).


Book review – Wartime Macau: Under the Japanese Shadow investigates the precarious freedom of a neutral enclave

Saturday, 24.12.2016

Von Peter Gordon. Quelle: SCMP.


47 years of Hong Kong’s changing places and faces – through lens of photographer Keith Macgregor

Thursday, 15.12.2016

Von Guy Haydon. Quelle: SCMP.


Pope’s possible deal with China would ‘betray Christ’, says Hong Kong cardinal

Tuesday, 29.11.2016

“Senior Catholic Joseph Zen says …” Von Benjamin Haas und Tom Phillips. Quelle: Guardian.


Hong Kong abductions: Marco Rubio seeks US sanctions against officials

Saturday, 19.11.2016

Von Benjamin Haas. Quelle: Guardian.


China tries to snuff out separatism in Hong Kong

Wednesday, 16.11.2016

Quelle: Economist.


Rally against Beijing’s interpretation of Basic Law ends …

Monday, 7.11.2016

… as police with batons chase protesters from area (SCMP)


Hong Kong shuts down as Typhoon Haima’s approach disrupts transport and public services

Saturday, 22.10.2016

Quelle: SCMP


Hong Kong has become a lesson rather than a showcase for “one country, two systems”

Wednesday, 19.10.2016

How Beijing might win the battle but lose the war Von Chung Man (ejinsight.com).


China Rejects British Concerns Over ‘Legal Interference’ in Hong Kong

Thursday, 13.10.2016

Quelle: NYT.


What renminbi internationalization means for Hong Kong

Wednesday, 5.10.2016

Von Ronald Wang. Quelle: ejinsight.com.


Coffin cubicles, caged homes and subdivisions … life inside Hong Kong’s grim low income housing

Wednesday, 5.10.2016

Von Naomi Ng. Quelle: SCMP.


Bugs Bunny, the Novel, and Transnationalism

Monday, 12.9.2016

“… the Indonesian-Chinese writer Xu Xi has lived between Hong Kong, where she was raised, and New York …” Ysabelle Cheung interviews Xu Xi. Quelle: LARB.


Wahl in Hongkong: Peking-kritische Aktivisten ziehen ins Parlament

Monday, 5.9.2016

Quelle: Focus


Where did the word ‘junk’ come from?

Wednesday, 31.8.2016

Von Lisa Lim. Quelle: SCMP Magazine.


HK: Nearly 40% secondary schoolkids showed depression signs: study

Tuesday, 30.8.2016

Quelle: ejinsight.com


Their singular goal: to win gold. Anything less amounts to losing.

Friday, 19.8.2016

All of China’s Olympic medallists deserve a victory lap in Hong Kong, not just the winners (SCMP). Vgl. Chinas Olympia-Erwartungen: Gold ist nicht mehr alles (FAZ/dpa).


China gibt grünes Licht für Börsenprojekt Shenzhen-Hongkong

Tuesday, 16.8.2016

Von Yifan Xie. Quelle: finanztreff.de. Vgl. 深港通获批 A股市场或迎“特大利好”? (Zhongguo Xinwen Wang).


Hong Kong carpet maker weaves 60 years of history

Saturday, 6.8.2016

“Tai Ping company built a five-storey factory in Tai Po in 1960 …” Von Jessie Lau. Quelle: SCMP.


They suffer from the piled-up pressure of crafting an elite kid

Thursday, 4.8.2016

Who Are Hong Kong’s ‘Monster Parents’? Von Ryan Kam (Global Voices).


Shenzhen is producing artistic cultural institutions at a “Made in China” speed

Friday, 29.7.2016

Creativity in Shenzhen “Hong Kong may be disdained as a “cultural desert,” but it still manages to look down on Shenzhen as a barren cultural wasteland …” Von Gu Ling (Randian). Vgl. 创意在深圳:活力与潜力.


Pelkumerin Martina Platte arbeitet für Seemannsmission in Hongkong

Wednesday, 27.7.2016

Von Markus Liesegang. Quelle: wa.de.


Mysterious confession fuels fears of Beijing’s influence on Hong Kong’s top newspaper

Monday, 25.7.2016

The South China Morning Post is being asked to explain how it obtained an interview with a young activist [Zhao Wei] who was detained by Chinese authorities. “… I’m now a brand new person …” Von Tom Phillips. Quelle: Guardian.


Student leader Joshua Wong guilty over Hong Kong pro-democracy protest

Thursday, 21.7.2016

Von Tom Phillips. Quelle: Guardian.


Pokemon Go

Thursday, 14.7.2016

The Hong Kong gamers desperate to start playing Nintendo’s Pokemon Go Von Rachel Cheung (SCMP).