Archiv für 'Kultur Lifestyle'

Cross-dressing in China, a teacher’s tale

Monday, 25.9.2017

The friendship he fostered with his talkative, funny, cross-dressing Chinese teacher taught a Beijing-based British journalist who the real masters of disguise are. Von Michael Bristow. Quelle: SCMP.


Beijing Marathon a victim of its own success as unregistered runners join race with fake tags

Sunday, 24.9.2017

As China’s middle class embraces long-distance running, demand to take part in events is far outweighing the number of places available. Von Mandy Zuo. Quelle: SCMP.


Ranting and Rapping Online in China, and Raking In Millions

Monday, 18.9.2017

“Not long ago, Li Tianyou was a scrawny junior high school dropout struggling to make a living in China’s dreary industrial northeast …” Von Javier C. Hernández. Quelle: NYT. Chin. Version hier.


The Tale of 80 Million Fans and 3 Chinese Boys

Tuesday, 12.9.2017

Quelle: Elephant Room


What’s more renao than a stage full of drag queens belting out songs or wailing for the dead person?

Monday, 11.9.2017

A Drag Queen for the Dearly Departed Von Ian Johnson (China File).


An Alternative History of Singapore, Through a Comic Book

Thursday, 7.9.2017

Nachtrag. Von Ian Johnson. Mit chin. Übersetzung. Quelle: NYT.


Teas such as “achieved-absolutely-nothing black tea”

Wednesday, 6.9.2017

For Chinese millennials, despondency has a brand name Von Yawen Chen und Tony Munroe (Reuters). Gekürzte chin. Version hier.


In Singapore, Chinese Dialects Revive After Decades of Restrictions

Tuesday, 5.9.2017

Von Ian Johnson. Mit chin. Übersetzung. Quelle: NYT.


Rural life live-stream an online hit for young Chinese farmer

Wednesday, 30.8.2017

Von Wendy Wu. Quelle: SCMP. Chinesischsprachige Version hier.


Breaking boundaries: China’s ‘Sex and the City’ wins praise for portrayal of modern day women

Thursday, 17.8.2017

Von Christine Wei und Neil Connor. Quelle: Telegraph.


Straight Outta Chengdu

Monday, 14.8.2017

Hip-Hop aus China Von Felix Zwinzscher (Welt).


„In China kommt ‚made in Germany’ auch kulinarisch gut an”

Wednesday, 9.8.2017

Von Bernd Ziesemer. Quelle: Welt.


Chinafrika

Monday, 31.7.2017

China und Afrika: Der Westen liefert nur noch die Logos “… Gleich nach seiner Entdeckung wird das große Thema von den westlichen Öffentlichkeiten wieder vergessen, so dass es bei seiner nächsten Entdeckung ein weiteres Mal als ganz frisch und neu erscheint …” Von Mark Siemons (FAZ).


The “Fake Lives” of Beijing Residents

Sunday, 30.7.2017

Quelle: What’s on Weibo.


Chinese police detain ‘female Jesus cult’ members

Thursday, 27.7.2017

Quelle: BBC.


The Beijing marriage market: putting a price on a perfect match in a Chinese park

Monday, 17.7.2017

Von Zhuang Pinghui. Quelle: SCMP.


Nühanzi und stolz darauf

Saturday, 15.7.2017

“Zhuo Danting ist nicht nur Tätowiererin, sondern auch „Nühanzi“ mit Leib und Seele …” Von Wang Jiewen. Übersetzung: Julia Buddeberg. Quelle: GI. Chinesischsprachige Version hier.


Spiele-Apps: China bekämpft Computerspielsucht

Wednesday, 12.7.2017

Von Finn Mayer-Kuckuk. Quelle: FR.


How Potty-Mouthed Online Advertisers Target Young Chinese

Saturday, 8.7.2017

Long constrained by deep-seated linguistic taboos, the internet has become fertile ground for coarser commercials. Von Tai Mengxi. Quelle: Sixth Tone.


Islam: In China sind Imaminnen Alltag

Monday, 26.6.2017

“… In China lebt die Minderheit der Hui seit Jahrhunderten eine liberale Auslegung …” Von Finn Mayer-Kuckuk. Quelle: FR.


Mein Caochangdi: Ein US-Chinese erzählt

Sunday, 25.6.2017

Stadtgeschichten Peking. Von Zhang Zongxi. Übersetzung: Julia Budeberg. Quelle: GI.


German ambassador to China calls for release of bishop [Shao Zhumin]

Wednesday, 21.6.2017

Von Louise Watt. Quelle: abc/AP.


A Chinese woman explains the connection between Buddhism and the movie Dangal

Wednesday, 21.6.2017

Von Sudheendra Kulkarni. Quelle: Quartz.


China’s Great Wall repaired with simple tools, bricks of old

Wednesday, 21.6.2017

Von Thomas Suen und Damir Sagolj. Quelle: Reuters. Chin. Sprachfassung hier.


Millennials’ taste for designer beer adds fresh fizz to China’s boutique and old breweries

Friday, 16.6.2017

Von Maggie Zhang. Quelle: SCMP. Chin. Version hier.