Archiv für 'Sachbuch'

Songs for Dead Parents: Corpse, Text, and World in Southwest China

Wednesday, 23.5.2018

Erik Mueggler über ein neues Buch von Marshall Poe. Quelle: newbooksnetwork.


Ming China and Vietnam

Monday, 14.5.2018

Ricarda Brosch stellt das Buch “Ming China and Vietnam. Negotiating Borders in Early Modern Asia” von Kathlene Baldanza vor. Quelle: New Books Network.


The Laws and Economics of Confucianism

Wednesday, 28.2.2018

Kinship and Property in Preindustrial China and England. Von Taisu Zhang. Quelle: newbooksnetwork.com


Sweden calls on China to release detained bookseller Gui Minhai

Thursday, 25.1.2018

Von Tom Phillips. Quelle: Guardian.


The War for China’s Wallet: Profiting from the New World Order

Thursday, 30.11.2017

How To Profit From China’s Rising Nationalism Russell Flannery über ein neues Buch (Forbes). Vgl. chinesischsprachigen Artikel hier.


Interpreting Islam in China: Pilgrimage, Language, and Scripture in the Han Kitab

Tuesday, 14.11.2017

SherAli Tareen stellt ein neues Buch von Kristian Petersen vor. Quelle: newbooksnetwork.com.


Bolihua. Chinesische Hinterglasmalerei.

Saturday, 21.10.2017

Nachtrag. Buchbesprechung von Hans Gärtner. Quelle: Tabula Rasa.


Justin R. Ritzinger, “Anarchy in the Pure Land: Reinventing the Cult of Maitreya in Modern Chinese Buddhism”

Tuesday, 10.10.2017

Buchvorstellung von Marshall Poe. Quelle: newbooksnetwork.com.


The Chinese Invasion Threat: Taiwan’s Defense and US Strategy in Asia

Monday, 9.10.2017

Besprechung eines Buchs von Ian Easton (thenewlens.com).


An Alternative History of Singapore, Through a Comic Book

Thursday, 7.9.2017

Nachtrag. Von Ian Johnson. Mit chin. Übersetzung. Quelle: NYT.


A Parent Confronts Conformity in the Classrooms of China

Friday, 1.9.2017

Alan Paul über das Buch “LITTLE SOLDIERS An American Boy, a Chinese School, and the Global Race to Achieve”von Lenora Chu. Quelle: NYT.


Imperial Bandits: Outlaws and Rebels in the China-Vietnam Borderlands

Sunday, 30.7.2017

Nick Cheesman stellt ein Buch von Bradley Camp Davis vor. Quelle: newbooksnetwork.com.


Erwachen aus dem Koma? Eine literarische Bestimmung des heutigen Chinas

Saturday, 8.7.2017

Neuerscheinung, von Thomas Zimmer. Quelle: Verlagsinformation.


Johnny Erling: Lesereise Peking

Wednesday, 5.7.2017

Quelle: Verlagsinformation.


New Book: Liu, Neo-Confucianism: Metaphysics, Mind, and Morality

Monday, 19.6.2017

Vorstellung eines Buchs von Jee Loo Liu (warpweftandway.com).


Welcome to the land of soft openings

Tuesday, 13.6.2017

Andrew Batson über Ian Johnson’s The Souls Of China: The Return of Religion After Mao. Quelle: andrewbatson.com.


The Philosophy of the Mozi: The First Consequentialists

Wednesday, 10.5.2017

Eirik Lang Harris bespricht ein Buch von Chris Fraser. Quelle: ndpr.nd.edu.


Laura Madokoro: Elusive Refuge

Monday, 8.5.2017

Chinese Migrants in the Cold War. Buchvorstellung von Carla Nappi. Quelle: newbooksnetwork.com.


Souls of China: The Return of Religion After Mao

Thursday, 30.3.2017

Sam Crane bespricht ein Buch von Ian Johnson (The Useless Tree).


Transpacific Community: America, China, and the Rise and Fall of a Cultural Network

Monday, 30.1.2017

“… writers as Agnes Smedley, Pearl Buck, Paul Robeson, Lin Yutang, Ding Ling, Liu Liangmo, Lao She, and Ida Puitt …” Carla Nappi stellt ein Buch von Richard Jean So vor. Quelle: newbooksnetwork.com.


Creative nonfiction is thriving

Saturday, 28.1.2017

Telling true stories is a booming business in China Tabitha Speelman (supchina.com).


Yiwu, China: A Study of the World’s Largest Small Commodities Market

Monday, 23.1.2017

Von Mark Jacobs. Quelle: Amazon/Verlagsinformation.


Quietly published in Hong Kong

Monday, 23.1.2017

Historian’s [Yang Jisheng] Latest Book on Mao Turns Acclaim in China to Censure Von Chris Buckley (NYT).


How China played a part in first wave of globalisation, in the 16th century

Thursday, 12.1.2017

“Globalisation is nothing new, say Peter Gordon and Juan José Morales in a book, The Silver Way, an excerpt from which reveals how a Pacific route to and from Spanish America made China an economic powerhouse 400 years ago.” Quelle: SCMP.


Recovering Buddhism in Modern China

Saturday, 24.12.2016

Carla Nappi stellt ein Buch von Jan Kiely und J. Brooks Jessup vor. Quelle: newbooksnetwork.com.