Archiv für 'Soziales'

Elderly care is an intimate business in a different way

Monday, 4.12.2017

Red Lights Go Gray China’s former sex capital, Dongguan, retires in style. Von Lin Qiqing (Sixth Tone).


China Limits Waste. ‘Cardboard Grannies’ and Texas Recyclers Scramble.

Monday, 27.11.2017

Von Mike Ives. Quelle: NYT. Chin. Übersetzung hier.


Geschlechtergerechtigkeit in China nimmt ab

Tuesday, 14.11.2017

Quelle: Merics


The human cost of China’s economic reforms

Friday, 20.10.2017

Quelle: BBC


China does not have Harvey Weinstein-type predators

Wednesday, 18.10.2017

Anger as Chinese media claim harassment is just a western problem State newspaper says China does not have Harvey Weinstein-type predators because ‘men are taught to be protective of women’. Von Benjamin Haas (Guardian).


Märchenhafter Reichtum – in den Händen ganz weniger

Sunday, 15.10.2017

Von Johnny Erling. Quelle: Welt.


Minimum wages on the march in China as labour pool shrinks

Friday, 13.10.2017

“More Chinese provinces are raising minimum wages this year …” Von Jane Cai. Quelle: SCMP.


How children’s education became the new luxury status symbol for Chinese parents

Friday, 13.10.2017

Quelle: SCMP


China to create national name-and-shame system for ‘deadbeat borrowers’

Thursday, 12.10.2017

Von He Huifeng. Quelle: SCMP. Chin. Übersetzung hier.


A tireless preoccupation with chains of contempt

Monday, 9.10.2017

How Online Chains of Contempt Show China’s Obsession With Money Popular jokes on social media reflect society’s preoccupation with materialism. Von Zeng Yuli (Sixth Tone).


China’s charity apps – the gift that may not keep on giving

Monday, 9.10.2017

Von Kinling Lo. Quelle: SCMP. Vgl. unvollständige chin. Übersetzung hier.


All we need is a marriage registration, and we can get you a license plate

Monday, 18.9.2017

Big in China: License-Plate Marriages Von Benjamin Carlson (The Atlantic). Chin. Version hier.


Fleeing From The War-Torn Hometown, They Are Rebuilding Their Lives in Yiwu

Monday, 11.9.2017

Nachtrag. Quelle: Elephant Room. Chin. Quelle hier.


China rewrites history with new censorship drive

Tuesday, 5.9.2017

Whitewashing of archives part of wider ideological crackdown by Xi Jinping. Von Ben Bland. Quelle: FT.


Rural life live-stream an online hit for young Chinese farmer

Wednesday, 30.8.2017

Von Wendy Wu. Quelle: SCMP. Chinesischsprachige Version hier.


Corrupt officials holding back China’s drive to eliminate poverty

Wednesday, 30.8.2017

Von Jun Mai. Quelle: SCMP.


Migrants moved on as Beijing deals with building ‘disease’

Tuesday, 15.8.2017

Von Natalie Thomas und Thomas Peter. Quelle: Reuters.


National campaign aims to topple pyramid schemes

Tuesday, 15.8.2017

Quelle: China Daily. Vgl. NYT-Artikel.


Only children to get paid leave if their elderly parents are hospitalized

Monday, 7.8.2017

Quelle: Global Times.


Why China’s best and brightest are ditching the megacities for second-tier ones

Sunday, 30.7.2017

Quelle: SCMP.


School in Hot Seat for Insisting on Criminal Checks Only for Migrant Parents

Saturday, 29.7.2017

Von Zhan Nanqian und Li Rongde. Quelle: Caixin Global.


The Beijing marriage market: putting a price on a perfect match in a Chinese park

Monday, 17.7.2017

Von Zhuang Pinghui. Quelle: SCMP.


Hu Line: China’s Forgotten Frontier

Saturday, 8.7.2017

“… the imaginary line divides China into two parts …” Von Colum Murphy. Quelle: Sixth Tone.


Thanks to Yao Chen, refugees have entered the consciousness of millions of Chinese people

Wednesday, 28.6.2017

China Actress Yao Chen Denies Refugee Call Rumors Von Fergus Ryan (China Film Insider).


Caucasian faces

Tuesday, 13.6.2017

White people wanted: a peek into China’s booming ‘rent a foreigner’ industry Foreign faces are still in demand to create an international veneer for Chinese firms by posing as executives, musicians and even mechanics. Von Alice Yan (SCMP).