Archiv für 'Soziales'

Foreign births soar as local births drop at epicentre of Chinese maternity tourism in Canada, new statistics show

Friday, 6.7.2018

Von Ian Young. Quelle: SCMP. Übersetzung hier.


Cotton textile production in medieval China unravelled patriarchy

Wednesday, 4.7.2018

Von Melanie Meng Xue. Quelle: Aeon.


Queer Comrades: Gay Identity and Tongzhi Activism in Postsocialist China

Wednesday, 27.6.2018

Laurie Dickmeyer stellt ein Buch von Hongwei Bao vor. Quelle: New Boks Network.


Traumberuf Model

Saturday, 19.5.2018

Fast fashion: for an e-commerce model in China, 150 outfits in 13 hours is a day’s work. Video. Quelle: Aeon.


China’s #MeToo Moment

Monday, 5.2.2018

Von Jiayang Fan. Quelle: The New Yorker.


Was ein Reis-Hase mit Feminismus zu tun hat

Monday, 29.1.2018

Von Johnny Erling. Quelle: Welt.


The Chinese Fisherman and the Sea

Monday, 18.12.2017

Experimental documentary by filmmaker Ning Jiawei dives into the complex relationship between humans and nature. Von Yin Yijun. Quelle: sixthtone.com.


Elderly care is an intimate business in a different way

Monday, 4.12.2017

Red Lights Go Gray China’s former sex capital, Dongguan, retires in style. Von Lin Qiqing (Sixth Tone).


China Limits Waste. ‘Cardboard Grannies’ and Texas Recyclers Scramble.

Monday, 27.11.2017

Von Mike Ives. Quelle: NYT. Chin. Übersetzung hier.


Geschlechtergerechtigkeit in China nimmt ab

Tuesday, 14.11.2017

Quelle: Merics


The human cost of China’s economic reforms

Friday, 20.10.2017

Quelle: BBC


China does not have Harvey Weinstein-type predators

Wednesday, 18.10.2017

Anger as Chinese media claim harassment is just a western problem State newspaper says China does not have Harvey Weinstein-type predators because ‘men are taught to be protective of women’. Von Benjamin Haas (Guardian).


Märchenhafter Reichtum – in den Händen ganz weniger

Sunday, 15.10.2017

Von Johnny Erling. Quelle: Welt.


Minimum wages on the march in China as labour pool shrinks

Friday, 13.10.2017

“More Chinese provinces are raising minimum wages this year …” Von Jane Cai. Quelle: SCMP.


How children’s education became the new luxury status symbol for Chinese parents

Friday, 13.10.2017

Quelle: SCMP


China to create national name-and-shame system for ‘deadbeat borrowers’

Thursday, 12.10.2017

Von He Huifeng. Quelle: SCMP. Chin. Übersetzung hier.


A tireless preoccupation with chains of contempt

Monday, 9.10.2017

How Online Chains of Contempt Show China’s Obsession With Money Popular jokes on social media reflect society’s preoccupation with materialism. Von Zeng Yuli (Sixth Tone).


China’s charity apps – the gift that may not keep on giving

Monday, 9.10.2017

Von Kinling Lo. Quelle: SCMP. Vgl. unvollständige chin. Übersetzung hier.


All we need is a marriage registration, and we can get you a license plate

Monday, 18.9.2017

Big in China: License-Plate Marriages Von Benjamin Carlson (The Atlantic). Chin. Version hier.


Fleeing From The War-Torn Hometown, They Are Rebuilding Their Lives in Yiwu

Monday, 11.9.2017

Nachtrag. Quelle: Elephant Room. Chin. Quelle hier.


China rewrites history with new censorship drive

Tuesday, 5.9.2017

Whitewashing of archives part of wider ideological crackdown by Xi Jinping. Von Ben Bland. Quelle: FT.


Rural life live-stream an online hit for young Chinese farmer

Wednesday, 30.8.2017

Von Wendy Wu. Quelle: SCMP. Chinesischsprachige Version hier.


Corrupt officials holding back China’s drive to eliminate poverty

Wednesday, 30.8.2017

Von Jun Mai. Quelle: SCMP.


Migrants moved on as Beijing deals with building ‘disease’

Tuesday, 15.8.2017

Von Natalie Thomas und Thomas Peter. Quelle: Reuters.


National campaign aims to topple pyramid schemes

Tuesday, 15.8.2017

Quelle: China Daily. Vgl. NYT-Artikel.