Archiv für 'Xinjiang'

China ‘anti-terror’ rallies: thousands of troops on streets of Urumqi

Wednesday, 1.3.2017

Von Tom Philipps. Quelle: Guardian.


Clues suggest Istanbul nightclub gunman may be a Uighur

Saturday, 7.1.2017

Von Jason Burke. Quelle: Guardian.


Xinjiang and the Modern Chinese State

Saturday, 10.12.2016

Carla Nappi stellt ein Buch von Justin M. Jacob vor. Quelle: newbooksnetwork.com.


To Kashgar and beyond in Xinjiang, China’s Wild West

Wednesday, 30.11.2016

Von Chris Taylor. Quelle: SCMP.


Living in China’s Expanding Deserts

Tuesday, 25.10.2016

Video. People on the edges of the country’s vast seas of sand are being displaced by climate change. Quelle: NYT.


Chinas Angst vor dem IS

Monday, 26.9.2016

“… Peking … baut eine muslimische Unruheprovinz zum Hochsicherheitstrakt um.” Von Hendrik Ankenbrand. Quelle: FAZ.


Ilham Tohti’s Nomination for Sakharov Prize Welcomed by Laureate and Scholars

Monday, 19.9.2016

Quelle: China Change


Uygur factor keeps Kyrgyzstan on Beijing’s radar

Wednesday, 31.8.2016

Proximity to restive Xinjiang region makes Central Asian nation strategically important. Von Catherine Wong. Quelle: SCMP.


Oil and Water: Being Han in Xinjiang

Tuesday, 26.7.2016

Von Tom Cliff. Quelle: chinoiresie.info.


Give the Sakharov Prize to an Uighur Intellectual

Tuesday, 19.7.2016

Von André Gattonlin, Marie Holzman und Noël Mamère. Quelle: China Change.


Uyghur Nation – Reform and Revolution on the Russia-China Frontier

Thursday, 14.7.2016

“… David Brophy’s new book is a masterful study of the modern history of the Uyghurs …” Von Carla Nappi. Quelle: newbooksnetwork.com.


Making the Case for Nominating Ilham Tohti for the Sakharov Prize

Wednesday, 1.6.2016

Quelle: China Change


Is China Moving to Restrict Religious Freedom for the Hui Muslims?

Tuesday, 17.5.2016

Von Wai Ling Yeung. Quelle: China Change.


China Detains 41 Uyghurs Who Skipped a Funeral of a Local Communist Functionary

Monday, 2.5.2016

Quelle: RFA


Xinjiang launches cross-border road trip routes

Saturday, 9.4.2016

Quelle: Xinhua.


After shootout, China says Uighur militants a threat to Indonesia

Saturday, 19.3.2016

Quelle: Reuters.


Ilham Tohti: A Short Introduction

Monday, 8.2.2016

Quelle: China Change


Indonesia turns to China as ethnic Uighurs join would-be jihadis

Thursday, 7.1.2016

Quelle: Reuters


Is There a Uighur Terrorist Build-Up Taking Place in Southeast Asia?

Tuesday, 29.12.2015

Von Yenni Kwok. Quelle: Time.


China’s controversial new anti-terror law to pass on Sunday

Monday, 28.12.2015

Quelle: Reuters


China to expel French journalist [Ursula Gauthier] over Xinjiang article

Sunday, 27.12.2015

Quelle: The Hindu/AFP


Mandoprop: ISIL’s new recruitment song in Mandarin is another way to enrage China

Tuesday, 8.12.2015

Von Nikhil Sonnad. Quelle: Quartz.


China is cutting mobile phone services in its Muslim-heavy far west

Wednesday, 25.11.2015

Von Zheping Huang. Quelle: Quartz.


Xinjiang: China says 28 foreign-led ‘terrorists’ killed after attack on mine

Sunday, 22.11.2015

Von Michael Martina und Ben Blanchard. Quelle: Reuters.


Making groundless comments on national policies

Sunday, 15.11.2015

Chinese professor [Liang Xinsheng] removed for expressing ‘radical opinions’ amid fresh crackdown Vpn Tom Phillips (Guardian).